About Big Horn County

Welcome to Big Horn County, the sixth largest county in Montana, at approximately 5,023 square miles, and with a population exceeding 13,000. The local government was established January 13, 1913. Hardin is the County Seat.

The scenic Big Horn, Pryor and Wolf Mountain ranges are part of the Big Horn County landscape. Visitors may want to enjoy fishing the Big Horn, Little Big Horn, and Tongue Rivers which wind through this region. The spectacular Big Horn Canyon National Recreation Area is host to water sports including boating, water skiing and more. Chief Plenty Coups State Park, at Pryor, contains much history of the Crow Indians.

Learn more about Bighorn County

County News

  • 24 Sep

    Big Horn County Announces 12 Newly-confirmed Cases of COVID-19 New cases include three (3) children under age 10 and three (3) teenagers

    HARDIN, MONTANA (September 23, 2020) – Big Horn County added 12 new cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday, September 23, 2020.

  • 22 Sep

    Big Horn County Announces Nine (9) Newly-confirmed Cases of COVID-19 899 total cases in the County

    HARDIN, MONTANA (September 22, 2020) – Big Horn County added nine (9) new cases of COVID-19 on Tuesday, September 22,

  • 22 Sep

    Big Horn County Announces 22nd Death from COVID-19 Decedent is a man in his 70’s

    HARDIN, MONTANA (September 22, 2020) – Big Horn County today announced the 22nd death of a County resident due to

View all news items

Community Calendar

There are no upcoming events at this time.

View all community events

Big Horn County is a land made up of varying jurisdictions. As you drive across the Crow and Northern Cheyenne Indian Nations, be aware that each has its own unique regulations and law enforcement agencies.

Big Horn County is designated as a Preserve America Community. The designation honors communities for their accomplishments in preserving the nation's priceless cultural and natural heritage.

Learn more about Big Horn County
Visit PreserveAmerica.gov

Our Mission

To maintain accessibility, accountability, efficiency and a sense of community, within the various functions of County government, while safeguarding the liberties of our citizens.